Brush Cleansing 101

Washing your makeup brushes is not only important for the integrity of the brush itself, but it’s also really important for your skin. Each day you use your foundation brush all over your face, product and bacteria collects in between the bristles that get spread all over your face the next time you use it. Often when friends complain about their skin acting up, the first question I ask is how often they wash their makeup brushes. To my surprise many friends say that it never even occurred to them to give their brushes a bath.

Prior to my quest for cruelty free products I would simply use the shampoo that was sitting in my shower. I recently have found a great product that gets my brushes squeaky clean in an ethical manner.

Image

Dr.Bronner’s Magic Soap- Rose $9.99CAD

I picked this lovely bottle up at my local Whole Foods and have fallen head over heels in love with it. Not only are there a decent variety of scents to choose from, varying from almond to peppermint, but there are also a lot of size options if you’re just looking to give this product a quick try without breaking the bank. Two drops of this product brings any brush to a lather and cleans the brush very thoroughly. I find I usually have a tough time cleaning my concealer brush due to the consistency and pigment of the product, but this soap gets my brush clean in half the time. I also should mention that I really love the rose scent, but am open to trying the other varieties. Something about rose scented products just gets me, and the all around good vibes of this product make me love it even more.

This product will be your makeup brush’s new best friend.

Talk soon,

XxBrianna

3 thoughts on “Brush Cleansing 101

Leave a comment