Jouer Samples

Not too long ago, I went into my new favorite store, Wishlist Boutique, so gawk at the Jouer counter. I had been eying the Matte Moisture Tints for quite some time, but was always hesitant to pick one up because I want the shade to match perfectly. When I’m shopping at Sephora I feel like I can pick up a shade I think is super close without fear because they have a great return policy. While I totally understand why a small boutique cannot afford to have the same return policy, it makes you a little more hesitant to purchase cosmetics, especially base make up, because who likes wasting money? Luckily the service at Wishlist is so fantastic, and I was able to take home some samples to try out. I thought I’d share my experience so far with the Jouer Moisture Tints.

DSC_0005

I left the boutique with 3 samples. the top 2 pictured above are shades of the Matte Moisture Tint in the shades ‘Porcelain’ and ‘Linen’, the container at the bottom is a sample of the Luminizing Moisture Tint in the shade ‘Golden’. I initially didn’t even give the Luminizing Moisture Tint the time of day because I have oily skin. The wonderful woman helping me pick shades out said she loved the Luminizing Moisture Tint and that I should try it out. Upon trying the Luminizing Moisture Tint I found my instincts were right. The luminizing formula contains small amounts of shimmer. I think if you have a dry skin type, you’d fall in love with the luminous finish. For me, it was a total pass. Plus the shade ‘Golden’ was waaaaaay too dark for me. I’m typically the 2nd to lightest shade in any range of foundations or concealers.

DSC_0006

The containers with black lids contain samples of the Matte Moisture Tint. I wasn’t quite expecting the consistency to be so thick, luckily it feels really light on the skin, and blends really easily. I find it to have a light to medium build-able coverage, but what I really like is that it contains an SPF of 15. This base also pairs really nicely under a mineral foundation, it doesn’t get all caked up underneath a powder. So far, I’m really impressed. I think the shade ‘Porcelain’ fits me really nicely. I feel like with a little bit of a tan, the shade ‘Linen’ would work really nicely.

swatches

Compared side to side, you can really see the difference in the shades. When I finally take the plunge and purchase the full size, I definitely think I’ll be going for the shade ‘Porcelain’ which is the lightest shade. Jouer Moisture Tints in both Matte and Luminizing formulations retail for $38, but keep in mind you’re getting 1.7 fluid ounces, as opposed to the standard 1 oz, so you’re getting almost double the product than most other foundations.

Have you tried the Matte Moisture Tints from Jouer? How did they work out for you?

Talk soon,

Xx Brianna

12 thoughts on “Jouer Samples

  1. I’ve been SOO curious about these! I think you and I are really close in shade, so I’ll have to keep my eyes out for Porcelain. Just wish I had a place I could try samples from though, I WILL not buy a foundation now-a-days unless I can test it out. Do you think this + the Tarte Amazonian clay foundation pair well together? Buffing the powder in doesn’t cause problems?

    Like

    1. I find it’s a tough balance with the tarte powder, it can lean on the cakey side really quickly if you don’t use thin layers. When I strike the right amount, the coverage is really awesome!

      Like

  2. Oh my goodness! an amazing article dude. Thanks Nonetheless I am experiencing issue with ur rss . Dont know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anybody getting similar rss drawback? Anybody who is aware of kindly respond. Thnkx dfbeabfddeeg

    Like

  3. What color are you in Mac foundations? Or any foundations honestly lol I’m trying to decide what shade to buy (linen or porcelain) Im fair skinned but very yellow toned.

    Like

    1. So sorry I’m crazy late to answering your question!! I haven’t used a Mac foundation before, and before I went cruelty free I had a concealer that was NW20 I believe. I hope this helps!

      Like

Leave a comment