Green Beaver – Seriously so Canadian it Hurts

I was introduced to this brand some time ago by my boyfriend’s mom, Donna. She sent a few things for us to try, and I kind of expanded into the line. I thought I would share my thoughts seeing as this is a natural, cruelty free brand that is Ec0-Certified.

DSC_0001

Green Beaver

Ok we’ve got a lot of stuff to cover here, so I want to get into each product. Just a little background, Green Beaver is a Canadian company that uses locally sourced, certified organic ingredients. A lot of the products they make are vegan, and lots of their packaging is biodegradable. This brand really focuses on healthy ingredients for people and for the environment. Being Eco-Certified ensures that the brand is cruelty free, as to be certified, they cannot test on animals. I emailed the company to confirm this, as well. So all this ethos and philosophy is great, but do the products actually work?

DSC_0004

First up is the Green Apple Toothpaste. Apologies for having the french side up in the photos, sometimes I forget not everyone is fluent in french. This toothpaste is my least favorite of the 4 products I’ve tried. It doesn’t build a lather at all, and I personally can’t get behind the green apple taste. Green Beaver does have other flavours available, so if the formula was great I would pick up a different flavour, but I just don’t care for it. My sister, on the other hand, loves it because I haven’t touched the stuff in months and it’s got a considerable dent in it, so she’s using it up. Just a classic example of people liking different products. If you’re looking for a natural toothpaste, check this one out, it will only set you back 6 Canadian dollars, and you may like it.

DSC_0005

This Green Apple Lip Balm is the best. At 4 dollars a tube, I really enjoy this lip balm. It has a somewhat hard texture, and is crazy moisturizing on the lips. It has that same green apple taste, but I like it for a balm. I use this when I go to sleep, and when I wake up in the morning I can still feel it on my lips. It’s got serious lasting power. This is a great little gem.

DSC_0002

Ahh natural deodorant, the bane of my existence. It is seriously hard to find a lasting, effective natural deodorant. I picked this up some time ago and I use it daily and still have a lot of product left. Probably because I use it in conjunction with the Tom’s of Maine Naturally Dry Antiperspirant because especially in this heat, I am sweaty. The reason I picked up the Green Beaver Natural Deodorant in the scent Citrus is because the Tom’s Antiperspirant is ‘unscented’ which really means it smells super gross. I’ve been layering the Green Beaver deodorant over the Tom’s antiperspirant and it works ok, but neither of them are long lasting. I’m a pretty active person, I play softball, and during tournaments in the heat I have to reapply like every hour to keep from stinking. It’s good for bumming around the house, thought. On days when I work from home, the Green Beaver deodorant does the trick nicely, and it only cost 6 bucks. Also, they’ve repackaged their deodorant since I’ve purchased mine, it looks a lot nicer now, less plain jane.

DSC_0003

Last but not least is a good old SPF. This is the Green Beaver Certified Organic SPF 30 Adult Sunscreen. A good sunscreen, in general, can be hard to find, slap on the mandate of cruelty free and all natural and you’ve got yourself a hunt. I do like this sunscreen, it’s a little greasy for me, I definitely want to shower the second I put it on, but it does the job of protecting my skin from the sun. I’m pretty fair and burn like crazy, so it’s important to slap on that SPF. I would never put this near my face, but for the body it’s sufficient. This bottle will set out back 22 Canadian dollars, and it does not ship to the US for some reason.

These are all the products I’ve tried so far from Green Beaver, I hope to get into their body washes soon!

Talk soon,

Xx Brianna

2 thoughts on “Green Beaver – Seriously so Canadian it Hurts

Leave a comment