Brow Game

I believe there’s a reason the mantra ‘never let someone with bad eyebrows tell you shit about your life’ exists. Brows, I feel, are one of the best ways to transform your face and add an extra polish. I thought I’d share my current brow routine, as one of my favorite looks for Fall is strong brows, keeping my eyes as minimal as possible, and a bold lip.

DSC_0013

I use three products to define my brows. I’d like to take this time to emphasize the word define. I’m simply adding a bit of colour and filling in sparse areas, I am NOT drawing on my brows, it’s best to just work with what you’ve got. Harshly drawn on eyebrows are visible from a mile away and give the appearance of the dreaded ‘cake face’ syndrome. I use two shades from the Sonia Kashuk Eye on Neutral Matte Palette, a clear brow gel from Essence, and a brow brush from Tarte.

DSC_0015

DSC_0016

I start by mixing the darkest brown shade and the cool grey shade to get my perfect brow shade. I like the depth of the dark brown shade, however it’s just a touch warm for my hair colour, so I add a bit of grey to cool it down.

DSC_0017

DSC_0018

First up I brush my brows to get them in the ultimate shape I’d like to end up with. This way I know where the sparse areas are, and how the arch of my brow is looking.

DSC_0019 DSC_0020 DSC_0021

I then start lightly fanning the colour in short light strokes through my brows. I find powder to be my favorite product for brows because it’s the most forgiving. I usually start by outlining the top of my brows, structuring the arch, and then filling in the rest. I finish with the tail of my brows so that the least amount of product is on my brush.

DSC_0022

Once the powder is distributed in my brows, I go in again with the spooly brush and go back and forth throughout my brows, this keeps the product from building up in one spot and looking over done.

DSC_0023

This is a more defined and refined brow than what I started out with.

DSC_0024

I’ve got pretty long eyebrow hairs, so I go in with some brow gel to keep things in place. I always scrape the brush off around the edges of the tube so that I don’t get too much product.

DSC_0025

I also find that brow gel helps to kick away any extra powder.

DSC_0029

Et voila! defined brows!

Talk soon,

Xx Brianna

2 thoughts on “Brow Game

Leave a comment