Flower Mascara Review

As you may or may not recall, I hauled some Flower Beauty items a few weeks ago (I have since picked up even more products #noshame). One product that seemed to be a stand out was the Flower Beauty Zoom-In Ultimate Mascara. I’ve been putting this mascara to the test, so I thought I’d share my thoughts on the funky wand.

DSC_0006

Flower Beauty Zoom-In Ultimate Mascara – $7.98 CAD

This mascara, as mentioned in the haul post, has a crazy adjustable wand. The wand adjusts when you turn the swivel at the top of the packaging. The regular wand is supposed to be for length, 1 turn is for curl, and 2 turns is for volume. Basically when you turn the wand, it twists and shortens.

DSC_0007

I really like the packaging, but the formula leaves something to be desired. I find the formula to be really wet and clumpy. On the website it suggests that you layer the mascara by starting withe the original wand, and then adding layers as you twist the wand. I would never in a million years use more than one coat of this mascara because I find that too much product gets on the brush and major clumping happens when I swipe over my lashes too many times.  I’m not a fan of the brush when it’s turned and twisted either, I find that the product really gets on there and clumps up like crazy.

Flower Mascara comparison

My left eye is bare in all the photos, and the right eye has one coat using each wand respectively. To me they look pretty much all the same. One positive side to this mascara is that it lasts really well and doesn’t flake up at all. It feels good on the lashes, not too dry, and removes really nicely. I’ve got alright lashes to begin with, so any mascara is going to look ok, but it just looks a bit ‘wet’ to me, and doesn’t separate my lashes at all.

I’ll definitely use up this mascara, but I think once it’s done I’ll be on to a new one. Maybe this is a case of a mascara that gets better with time. Any suggestions of a good cruelty free mascara?

Talk soon,

Xx Brianna

11 thoughts on “Flower Mascara Review

  1. Finding a good cruelty free mascara that doesn’t break the bank is hard 😦 I’m still in the testing stage. I can check this one off for sure LOL. I like the Too Faced Better than Sex one (hate the name) but if flakes a little. And there is one from Julep that is good (I’m pretty sure they ship to Canada) if you like a more natural look. I don’t like the ones from ELF or Wet N Wild though 😦

    Like

    1. I totally agree! I really like the Tarte Lights Camera Lashes mascara and the Pur Minerals Impact+ mascara, but they’re both 20+ dollars. I tried ones from NYX and Physician’s Formula but I wasn’t over the moon with either. I was wanting to try the ‘Lash Knock Out’ mascara from Flower because it has the wand I’m more partial to – a basic spoolie wand – but I couldn’t find it in stores. So the search continues…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I am using Tarte Lights Camera Lashes right now and am looking for a new cruelty-free one as well! I’ve found that cruelty-free stuff that works is always a bit expensive…has that been your experience too?

    Like

    1. Definitely! I really like the Pur Minerals mascara but again it’s over 20 bucks! I’ll be on the search for a good one that’s priced for the drugstore and when I find it I will be sure to let everyone know 🙂

      Like

      1. oh excellent! Thanks for updating me! I don’t trust the PETA certification very much, but knowing they’re leaping bunny certified makes me confident in their stance!

        Like

Leave a comment