Naked 2 Basics

Fun fact: until a few weeks ago I didn’t own any Urban Decay Naked palettes. It’s weird because I hear about how amazing they are pretty much every day, but for whatever reason I never took the plunge. I’ve heard the hype and seen the swatches, but I think it’s something to do with all the shimmer that’s kept me from buying one. Then the Naked Basics palette was released and I still passed it by. Finally with the Naked 2 Basics, I saw a palette that I would get a lot of use out of, and I was lucky enough to receive this palette from my boyfriend who included it in an advent calendar he had made for me for the holidays. He’s pretty much the best, even when he didn’t really know what he was buying, he still picked out a slam dunk.

DSC_0002 DSC_0003

Urban Decay Naked 2 Basics – $34.00 CAD

Like I say, I had never owned an Urban Decay shadow, so I had no idea what to expect with the texture of the shadows. The palette contains 5 matte shadows, and one satin finish. The majority of the palette is cool toned, which I tend to gravitate towards.

DSC_0005

The shades are:

Skimp: a cream with a satin finish.

Stark: a matte nude.

Frisk: a matte light gray.

Cover: a warm brow-gray matte.

Primal: a muted brown-gray matte.

Undone: a blackened brown matte.

DSC_0008

The colour selection is really weird to me. There’s two highlight type shades, three lid colours, and a darker shade to smoke out a look. Weirdly enough, the darkest colour ‘Undone’ works perfectly for my brows. The texture of these shadows are amazing. They’re so buttery and blend like a dream. They are incredibly pigmented and soft, and never get chalky or patchy. The shadows do kick up a little bit of fall out in the pan, but nothing overwhelming. The shadows also last for a really long time.

DSC_0020

DSC_0025

My favorite shades are Frisk and Primal. I like to put Frisk all over the lid, and define my crease with primal. As you can see in the bottom 3 swatches in particular, the shadows are a dream. I didn’t really build up the swatches at all, I just ran my finger over the shadows lightly.

This palette makes me verrrrry curious about the other Naked palettes: which is your favorite?

Talk soon,

Xx Brianna

15 thoughts on “Naked 2 Basics

  1. Very practical and pretty colors. I only have the original Naked palette, but I love it. I was worried it might be too warm, but it’s really wearable and versatile. –Angela

    Like

  2. Good boyfriend! 😀 I like the colour ranges in all of their palettes, but I wouldn’t buy one as I do not consider Urban Decay cruelty free anymore. Well, the brand itself is, but they are part of the Estée Lauder Corporation and they are not cruelty free. I personally try to avoid those brands as well, which leaves even less brands, but there are some great ones out there. I was considering buying the too faced chocolate bar palette to have a pretty neutral palette in my stash.. but I am not sure yet 🙂

    Like

    1. I definitely feel you with the parent company issue, it was something I struggled with when I first went cruelty free. When I was sorting out the mine field that is cruelty free cosmetics, I decided that so long as the products I am buying are not tested, I’m ok with parent companies. It’s tough, but I decided to support companies that stayed true to being cruelty free even when being bought out. In Urban Decay’s case I am especially ok with it because they are both Leaping Bunny and Peta certified. However I do really understand and appreciate where you stand, as ultimately some of my money is going to end up in Estee Lauder’s pockets. As for a good neutral palette that is made by a company that is not owned by a giant non-cruelty free corporation, I do really like the Sonia Kashuk Eye on Neutral Palette!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I will check that palette out.. thanks for the tip 🙂
        And actually I got them mixed up they are part of L’Oréal… I am only trying myself, sometimes I end up buying something because I think a brand is cruelty free and later I find out that they belong to one of the big parent companies that aren’t.. but at least I try 🙂 I don’t mind if people decide to do it th way you do it, that’s really good, too. I am vegetarian, but I don’t mind meat eaters around me as long as they think about where their food is coming from..

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Been really wanting that palette! Btw, I am giving away the Urban Decay Naked On The Run on my blog, so if you’re interested, feel free to check out my post and enter!

    Have a great day!

    Like

Leave a comment