January 2015 Favorites

The first year of my blog contained zero favorites posts, mostly because I was in the process of making over my beauty arsenal and ensuring that every product was cruelty free. Now that I’ve accomplished that task, and feel as though I’ve got enough products so that every month doesn’t have the same products in it, I’d love to do a monthly favorites post.

DSC_0002

This month I loved an assortment of products ranging from make up, to bath and body, and even a candle favorite.

DSC_0003

First up is the good stuff, beauty. I have basically been attached at the hip with my Flower About Face foundation. It provides such a natural coverage, never clings to any lines, and wears fantastically throughout the day. Tarte’s Smooth Operator Amazonian Clay Finishing Powder has been an amazing discovery. This is a silky translucent setting powder that keeps the skin matte but not flat and lifeless. My blush of choice has been the Josie Maran Coconut Water Cheek Gelee in Berry Bliss, I am just downright in love with these blushes. They’re just so natural and hydrating and incredibly beautiful. The Flower Beauty Lip Gloss in the shade Lovely Lotus has been a lip favorite for me because it’s moisturizing, a really beautiful sheer baby pink, and is not sticky at all. The Real Techniques Cheek Brush has been carving out my cheekbones with ease all month. A polish I really loved this month was Deborah Lippmann’s You’ve Got a Friend, which was a part of the I’ve Gotta Be Me set that I got for Christmas gifts. I split up all the polishes with a bunch of other cruelty free goodies for my mom, sister, and boyfriend’s mom. I gave this shade to my mom… and then borrowed it. I’M THE WORST. But this polish rocks. It’s a lot like Porchester Square by Nails Inc, and the formula is out of control amazing. Last up is Tarte’s Maracuja Oil which has been soothing my flaky dry skin.

DSC_0004

Last up is a little body care and a candle. Ro’s Argan Body Conditioner actually saved me in December and January. Long story short we had no furnace for about a month, and of course we had a terrible cold snap in Vancouver, so getting out of the nice warm shower was like death. Ro’s Argan Body Conditioner saved me for having to moisturize after the shower. I’ve been burning the crap out of my Paddywax Salted Grapefruit candle that I got from my boyfriend’s mom for Christmas. It smells so nice and not offensive at all. Last but not least is the Body Shop Almond Body Butter. When we finally did get our furnace sorted, it was time for serious hydration. I love the scent of this body butter, and it feels slightly more oily, which I really like because my skin is so soft.

How do you like this format for a favorite post? Too cluttered? Not structured enough? Let me know!

Talk soon,
Xx Brianna

2 thoughts on “January 2015 Favorites

  1. Yay! I always wondered why you didn’t have monthly faves so I’m super excited that you’re going to start doing them this year 🙂 I tried the Flower foundation but it was too yellow for me. I think I just wasn’t careful enough choosing a shade so I’ll have to go back and do some investigating 🙂

    Like

    1. Colour matching at the drugstore is next to impossible! I usually bring a foundation with me that I know suits my skintone and try and match it as best as possible in the bottle. It’s tricky though because sometimes they oxidize, but I haven’t noticed that with the Flower foundation!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment