Hair Help!

This blog post is a touchy subject for me. I don’t really have a quirky intro for this blog post, so I’ll just get right into it. Since about the middle of May, my hair has basically been falling out in handfuls. I’m not trying to be dramatic when I say this, it’s just unfortunately the ugly truth. I first started noticing in the shower that when I washed my hair, there was a lot coming out (I like to stick any hair that comes out to the wall to keep it from clogging up the drain). This went on for a couple of weeks. One day I was running a straightening iron through my hair and I noticed that there was a TON of hair on the floor. And so began my realization that my hair was falling out. Majorly. When I ran my hands through my hair, nothing but handfuls of hair would come out. It’s been really disheartening.

Now I know it’s just hair and in the grand scheme of all of the terrible, horrible things that happen in this world, your hair falling out doesn’t even register on the richter scale. But when your body starts to betray you like that with no warning, it’s really scary. I immediately started thinking back to the beginning of the year, as I know that stress can cause your hair to fall out. I’ve had a rough go this year, between medical things like getting my wisdom teeth out, starting a new job, and some other un-fun adult stuff, I realized that it had been almost exactly 3 months since I had gotten my wisdom teeth out. Some may say this is an easy procedure, but I’ve been crazy lucky to be really healthy my whole life, and this was the most traumatic thing my body had been through.

I began obsessively researching stress related hair loss, and what I found seemed to relate to my situation. What I learned is that your hair goes through phases of growth, resting, and shedding. When you go through a stressful event, emotionally or physically, a bigger percentage of your hair gets shocked into going into a ‘resting phase’ that lasts for about 3 months. After that resting phase, all of that hair sheds off. Though it was relieving to research that what I was experiencing seemed to fit the stress hair loss situation, it was still really stressful, for the lack of a better term.

What was really unnerving about this situation is that I could never stop thinking about it. If I left my hair down, every time I would look down there would be a ton of hair on my shirt. If I put my hair up there was some temporary mind relief, but if I took my hair down to re-do a pony tail, I’d be pulling out clumps with the hair band. My hair loss is quite literally always on my mind. Don’t even get me started on washing it. When I wash my hair, that seems to be when the most comes out. I’ll sit in the bathroom for over half an hour just procrastinating because washing my hair is very, very stressful.

I went to my doctor to make sure there was nothing funny going on. He assured me I would not go bald and that ‘sometimes hair just falls out’… whatever that’s supposed to mean. My blood work all came back normal, so there’s nothing deficiencies going on. It is, however, still happening, and it’s almost been 3 months, so according to my research all of this should be ending some time soon. I can only hope. In the mean time I’ve been using a lot of products targeting a healthy scalp so I can put my mind at ease knowing I’m at least doing something.

DSC_0117

It has been a very tough couple of months. I’m thinking if this incessant hair shedding ever stops, I’m going to treat myself to getting my hair done.

DSC_0120

To wash my hair, I’ve been using the Jason Normalizing Tea Tree Shampoo. This is supposed to balance the scalp and keep any funny business like dandruff from wreaking havoc on your scalp. From what I’ve read, the fungus that causes dandruff doesn’t cause hair loss, but lots of aggressive scratching can make that happen, and I don’t want to loose any more hairs than I have to. This has been a really solid shampoo that makes my hair feel clean, and my scalp nice and fresh. I’ve also been using the Live Clean Professional Healthy Balance Conditioner. This conditioner I have noticed to make the biggest difference so far. I rub this into my scalp and let it sit for a good 5 minutes or so. This doesn’t make my hair greasy or stringy, and really soothes my scalp. This has a really non-offensive scent, and rinses out of the hair beautifully. I usually never put conditioner on my scalp, but with this mess going on, I’ve made an exception.

DSC_0119

Treatment wise, I’ve been loving the Live Clean Professional Miracle Nutrition Oil as a pre-shower treatment. This is one of those oils that is two separate colours, and when you mix them together it turns into this orange oil. I put in a few pumps of this into the lengths of my hair, and even on my scalp, about 10 minutes before my shower and then shampoo it out. This is really lovely, and it smells so amazing! This is the best smelling product I have used in ages and I love it purely for the scent, not to mention the moisturizing properties. Lastly, after I get out of the shower I’ve been putting the Josie Maran Argan Oil Hair Serum in my towel dried hair. Since I find heat styling my hair to put me in the most depressed mood ever (because of all the hair loss that occurs), I’ve been just letting my hair air dry.

All I can say is if this ever stops, my hair is going to be crazy healthy because I haven’t put any heat on my hair for over two months. Have any of you ever experienced stress related hair loss?

I’m very fortunate to have had extremely thick hair before this started, because I’m starting to feel like I have 7 hairs left.

Talk soon,

Xx Brianna

16 thoughts on “Hair Help!

  1. Oh no! Honey that sounds awful.

    I did notice when I hit my early twenties that a lot of hair started to come out in the shower. It is rather alarming at first I know!

    First piece of advice is try and relax – stressing about it can’t be doing your hair any favours.

    X

    Like

      1. Haha I know it must be tough! Spacing out washes, using a comb on wet hair versus a brush is also a good idea. Dry shampoo time! Also lots of water and consider added protein in diet? Biotin supplement perhaps?

        Like

      2. I’ve added a Vitamin B complex vitamin into my diet and I’ve been making it a point to eat more protein (I was probably deficient as I don’t eat meat). Dry shampoo has always been my friend but now it’s pretty much my best friend!

        You are so lovely thank you so much for taking the time to give some advice! I really, really appreciate it 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so sorry to hear you (and your hair) are having a bad time. It must be really stressful to be in that situation, which must make you worry that being stressed is making the situation worse! I really hope it gets better soon, and you can go back to your long thick hair – and no stress!

    Wanted to say thanks for the hair tips (will be looking into live clean and josie maran) and wanted to suggest coconut milk if you are not already using it? Theres some great moisturising masks out there and I’ve founded adding different things to it helps; for you adding black pepper and powdered fenugreek seeds to milk thats simmered for 5 minutes and cooled, and then applied to your hair before shampooing might help? Just a thought.

    Hope everything works out ok soon 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words!! I really do like Live Clean’s hair products, specifically the ‘professional’ range. I’ve never tried using coconut mild, that’s really interesting!! Thank you so much for these tips! You are so lovely!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. thanks for the post, sorry you have been having a tough time with your hair! I was having a hard time too but it just stopped shedding! I use coconut oil on my hair and that seems to have helped…
    I tried Jason’s face lotion and didn’t like it 😦 but I am going to try the hair product.. thank you!
    just started following you… I have a vegan beauty/lifestyle blog as well, http://www.veganneeds.com

    Like

  4. So sorry to hear this! Stress can cause so many other problems and it’s difficult to stay stress-free! I hope your hair gets back to normal very soon. I always find rinsing conditioner out with cool water is gentler on my hair, and I’d also recommend a gentle hairbrush like a Tangle Teezer as they don’t tug at your hair like others do. Sending positive vibes! xxx

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! That’s a handy tip about rinsing conditioner with cool water! I’ve been using a Tangle Teezer for about a year and a half now and I have no idea how I used a normal brush before!

      Like

Leave a comment