Josie Maran Argan Oil Hair Serum

If you have read my blog post called Hair Help, you’ll know that I’ve been having a lot of issues with my hair. To put a long story short, I was experiencing stress related hair loss, and it really sucked. I’m very happy to report that it has finally stopped, and I’m back to heat styling my hair. It feels so amazing to run my hands through my hair and not have any come out. I feel like a new person! I wanted to talk about a product that I was using during my hair loss, and have loved and continued using post Telogen effluvium (the technical term for stress related hair loss).

DSC_0120

Josie Maran Argan Oil Hair Serum – $15.00 CAD

I have the little mini size of this hair serum, my boyfriend surprised me with it because he knew I was having a really hard time with my hair. He’s the best. I have the trial size here, so it’s only half of an ounce, but there are bigger bottles available. I don’t even mind having the small bottle because a very small amount of product goes a very long way.

The pump is really lovely on the packaging, but I find it pumps out a little too much product for me, because I have medium length hair that’s super thin right now, if I use more than half a pump things tends to get oily and funky looking. I would suggest using about half of what you think you’d need. Now on to the actual product: this serum is really lovely. It’s thicker than your average oil, but still translucent and not nearly as thick as a lotion. The oil smells really nice as well. It’s got a nice light and fresh scent that has a hint of citrus. The serum sinks in quickly to damp hair, and keeps things moisturized and helps cut air drying time somewhat.

DSC_0121

This product claims to have anti-frizz and high shine properties. I can attest to the shine factor, however I don’t think it does much in the anti-frizz department, which is ok with me as I’m mainly looking for moisture. I’ve used this serum when air drying my hair as well as using heat styling tools, and the effects are pretty much the same either way. The serum helps to add some moisture to the ends of my hair, and adds a nice fragrance and some shine.

Overall I do like this product, however I’m not sure it’s a holy grail product. I wouldn’t recommend running out and buying it immediately, but if you’re looking to give the ends of your hair a little TLC, or want to try a more natural hair care product, I think this would be a good place to start.

Talk soon,

Xx Brianna

Leave a comment